John Akerson's Thoughts

Business, technology and life

Calls to Action

SLOW… Calls to action!  B to B magazine published an interesting article  on calls to action. They pointed out that the average time that passes between someone sending an email, and someone reading it is 25.9 hrs. Given that statistic, if you

There’s another detail. Emails are not necessarily instant-delivery. 3 times since Thanksgiving 2009 I’ve gotten blast-email from Dicks Sporting goods with details on time-limited sales. I was VERY interested in those sales, but in each case, I got the “24-hr sale” email after it had expired. I’m really connected, and check my email many times daily so missing those emails was troubling.calls to action via email

I checked the headers and saw that the emails were sent just a few hours before I got them, and in 2 of the 3 cases, I could confirm that the emails were SENT after the sale ended.

I attempted to contact Dick’s Sporting Goods marketing department to let them know there was a delivery issue with their marketing email system. I went so far as to track down likely people in their Corp HQ on LinkedIN. (I really was interested in a unique Ascender that they had on sale.) I could not ever connect to anyone who really knew what was going on. It was kind of ironic – like they had outsourced their interest in selling products.

I assume their email sales were seen internally as unsuccessful because of a lack of response – but given their time-limits and email performance, the email failures were essentially self-inflicted. The call to action was combined with a time limit that ended before the call to action was sent.

Given the 25.9hr email to read parameter listed in the B to B magazine, I would recommend that everyone sending timed-sale email blast campaigns should extend those sales to at least 72hrs or so.  It would probably also be good to track those emails by setting them up so that the marketing people responsible for the blasts receive the last email in each campaign – so they could monitor not only the success of the sale, but the success of the call to action for the sale.

What do you think? Has this ever happened to you?

January 28, 2010 - Posted by | Business, Competitive Advantage, Continuous Improvement

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

